Financial Aid and Scholarships

Erasmus +

Erasmus + is a program of the European Union for young people that want to go abroad for a short manner of time. Its aim is to help young people financially while increasing skills and employability in different countries. But not every country takes part in this program. There are only a few countries that participate in Erasmus + and only students from these countries are able to apply for it.

The countries that can fully participate are:

Belgium, Greece, Lithuania, Portugal, Bulgaria, Spain, Luxembourg, Romania, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Slovenia, Denmark, Croatia, Malta, Slovakia, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Finland, Estonia, Cyprus, Austria, Sweden, Ireland, Latvia, Poland, United Kingdom and non EU member countries such as: Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Turkey (Studying in Germany). Furthermore, there are countries, called partner countries that can only participate in specific actions of Erasmus+ and under special conditions: Western Balkans (Region 1): Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro and Serbia; Eastern Partnership countries (Region 2): Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognized by international law;  South Mediterranean countries (Region 3): Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia; and Russian Federation (Region 4): Territory of Russia as recognized by international law. (Region 5): Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State, Switzerland. (Region 6): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam. (Region 7): Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan. (Region 8): Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela. (Region 9): Iran, Iraq, Yemen. (Region 10): South Africa. (Region 11): Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo – Democratic Republic of the, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia- Federated States of, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Timor Leste – Democratic Republic of, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe. (Region 12): Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.

(Source: Studying in Germany)

The Erasmus+ program is simply a financial aid that helps students which want to study for one or two semesters in Germany or students that want to do an internship in a German organization. It is an exchange program to enable young people, who are enrolled in a university, to gain experience, academic knowledge, professional practice and interculturality. Students who are able to study in Germany through Erasmus+ are those, which:

  • Are currently enrolled in a home university which is a member of Erasmus Charter for Higher Education,
  • Studies at home university lead to a recognized degree in Germany,
  • Seek to study in  German university which is also a member of Erasmus Charter for Higher Education,
  • Want to become a subject of student exchange under a mutual agreement of both universities (sending and German hosting university) for specific mobility action.

To study in Germany through Erasmus+ you need to know that you can only stay for 3 to 12 months. If you want to stay longer you need to search for another program or scholarship

The Erasmus+ covers the following costs:

  • Traveling,
  • Living costs,
  • Enrollment in German university,
  • University Assessment fee,
  • Library sources,
  • And other study related costs in the hosting university in Germany (Studying in Germany)


Scholarships are provided by different foundations that are partly supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and are primarily there to give financial support for students studying abroad. But there is not only the monthly payment that highlights scholarships, there are also allowances for books, health insurance or child care that convince of scholarships. You need to know that you do not have to have perfect grades in order to get financial aid in form of a scholarship. A lot of foundations lay great importance into social commitment and also regard social, family and personal criteria. Tip: Apply for smaller scholarship foundation, because the chances of success are way higher than with huge, well-known scholarship agencies.

Checklist for Application:

  • Does the selected scholarship provider actually match my personal and subject profile?
  • Do I meet the formal requirements for the scholarship programme – matching academic status, country of origin, subject specialisation?
  • Am I able to provide evidence of the relevant requirements – appropriate academic results and my social commitment?
  • Can I obtain all the necessary application documents within the current application period?

(Source: DAAD)

A scholarship is given to a person that fulfils the requirements. If you convince the agency with your application folder, consisting of a CV, certificates and reports by teachers or professors, you will be invited to a personal meeting. The process of application is different in each agency so you should check on their websites before applying.

Scholarship Database of the DAAD: